What I’m Reading Wednesday – Mr. Penumbra’s 24-hour Bookstore

I often judge books by their cover. When I go to the library or a bookstore a beautiful cover can get me to pick up books I never would have thought to read. So when I saw the cover for Mr. Penumbra’s 24-hour Bookstore while browsing one afternoon at Powell’s I knew I needed to know more about this story, and after reading the synopsis I decided it would be my next pick for our book club.

811wT2-uD8LI instantly fell in love with this story about a young man who loses his IT job when the economy tanks. He finds himself desperate for work when he spots an opening at this weird bookstore. But this bookstore is more than just a little bit weird, it ends up being the opening to a secret society that may have the key to something that can change the world.

San Francisco acts as the perfect backdrop to this story. It’s such a beautiful old town that is dripping with new technology around every corner. The characters in this book cross pathes with everyone from Google programers to old pot smoking hippies and even a brief visit from a dark and mysterious CEO.

Without giving too much of the plot away I will say if you love bookstores, mysteries, and have a love-hate relationship with e-readers you’ll most likely be a fan of this book. The moral at the end is so heartfelt that I couldn’t help but tear up while reading the final pages.

I’m very excited to discuss all the details with my book club in a few weeks, but if you’ve read this book already I’d love to hear what you think. Hit me up on twitter or in the comments below with your thoughts.

One thought on “What I’m Reading Wednesday – Mr. Penumbra’s 24-hour Bookstore

  1. Pingback: Friday, I’m in love: 5.16.14 | Bacon and Glitter

Leave a Reply

