Make Something Monday – Go Bananas!

I freaking love bananas. They’re my favorite fruit and one of my favorite flavors to bake with. So when I started to plan my work snack for the week I went for a classic: banana bread. Of course, as always, this recipe is gluten free. You can substitute regular “gluten full” flour if you want since this recipe is pretty simple. And just to satisfy my sweet tooth I threw some chocolate chips into this bad boy, but you can always leave those out if you prefer.

banana bread 1

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

adapted from The Life of Curls
  • 1 3/4 cups gluten free flour (I use Bob’s Red Mill AP GF flour)
  • 1 1/4 tsp xanthan gum
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 sugar
  • 1/2 canola oil
  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350°. Grease a bread pan. Combine your dry ingredients in a bowl: GF flour, xanthan gum, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Set aside.
  2.  In a seperate bowl, using an electric mixer or a potato masher, mash your bananas. Add eggs one at a time and mix. Add sugar, canola oil, and vanilla extract to the banana and egg mixture.
  3.  Add your dry ingredients to wet ingredients in thirds, mixing between until fully combined. Fold in chocolate chips. Pour batter into your prepared bread pan. Bake 40-45 minutes or until a toothpick comes out completely clean.
  4.  Cool on a rack of 10 minutes then remove from the pan and cool completely. (If you can. Trust me, you’ll be tempted to dig into this yummy treat right away.)

banana bread 2

Variation: In the past I’ve also taken about 1/4-1/3 of the batter and added unsweetened cocoa powder and then marbled it throughout the batter. (Chocolate marbled banana bread might be one of my best ideas yet.)

What delicious things have you been cooking up lately?

Leave a Reply

