What I’m Reading Wednesdays – Divergent & Her: A Memoir

I’m doing double duty this week and trying to finish not only my current book club pick, but also another book I have coming due at the library. I’ve never set deadlines for myself when reading, and now that I get most of my books from the library it’s kind of nice to have a set time to read a book. This is probably why I’ve been successful in my reading challenge this year.

Divergent_hqOctober was my turn to pick a book for our book club and I was so excited to choose Divergent by Veronica Roth. My friend Christa recommended this book to me after i read the Hunger Games back in early 2012 and I was blown away by how good it was. If you are a fan of YA and girls that just kick ass, then you may want to run and pick this one up.

Yes, it’s also being made into a movie starring Shailene Woodley! I’m pretty excited about this. I’m all about movie adaptations, even if I do nit-pick certain things. For the most part I love them as a piece of the stories world and fandom.

Most people in the book club has been responding really well to Divergent, which is such a relief. It’s always a bit scary to recommend a book that you love because there’s the chance someone else will hate it.

Veronica Roth has two other books in this series, Insurgent & Allegiant (coming out 10/22/13), so right now is the perfect time to start reading them!

The other book I just started reading is Her: A Memoir by Christa Pavaratti. My friend had been talking about it for awhile on facebook and I immediately added it to my library list.

0-FINAL-her

Her: A Memoir is the story of Christa Pavaratti and her twin sister Cara who died of a drug overdose. Christa is trying to figure out her place in this world without her other half and soon falls into the patterns of her sister, hoping that if she becomes more like Cara, she won’t feel her loss.

I’ve only started reading memoirs in the last year and I have a feeling that this one won’t disappoint. It’s always a really interesting thing to step into someone else’s non-fiction world. You can only hope that there will be some kind of happy ending.

What’s your favorite type of story to read? Non-Fiction or Fiction?

xx

Candice

Leave a Reply

