Make Something Mondays – Chocolate Stout & Peanut Butter Doughnuts

It’s really amazing how life can get crazy, and before you know it 2 months have gone by without a single post. With the end of summer school & the beginning of the school year at work time was spread thin and the blog unfortunately became a lower priority. But now that things are settling down and routine is in place I want to get back to it. So this week I’m bringing you a special treat I made for my book club ladies a few months ago!

I love beer and I love peanut butter, and I decided to combine them into all my dessert dreams.

chocolate stout doughnutsI didn’t have to look far on the internet for this fantastic stout doughnut recipe from Bakers Royal.

I decided to use Ninkasi Vanilla Oatis Oatmeal Stout and it ended up being the perfect beer for these doughnuts. I love baking with beer because the desserts are always less sweet which is always a nice change.

Then I made a simple peanut butter glaze and topped the doughnuts with chopped peanut butter cups.

Everyone devoured these doughnuts at my book club (including our trusty spouses/partners who drive us to and from so we can get tipsy).

What delicious things have you been making lately?

Peanut Butter Glaze (yields approximately 2 cups)

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1/4 cup creamy peanut butter (room temperature)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 cup milk (I used unsweetened almond milk)

Combine the powdered sugar and peanut butter into a stand mixer. Add in the vanilla extract and almond milk. Adjust thickness by adding more milk or powdered sugar.

2 thoughts on “Make Something Mondays – Chocolate Stout & Peanut Butter Doughnuts

Leave a Reply

