What I’m Reading Wednesday – The Ocean at the End of the Lane

My girlfriends and I started a book club a few months ago, and while most of the books we’ve read have been pretty great, this month’s selection is my favorite so far.

ocean

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman is an adult fantasy novel about a seven year old boy who after discovering his families tenant dead is thrown into a world of danger & adventure, all happening between his home & the “ocean” at the end of the lane.

I’m a huge fantasy junkie and I usually find myself reading a lot of YA. It was nice to read a more mature fantasy novel that had children dealing with some very adult issues, fighting creatures from other worlds, and was still able to make me laugh even through all the scary bits.

This book is under 200 pages and would be a great poolside or beach read this summer. (And certainly better than any trashy chick lit novel you might pick up instead!)

xx

Candice

Leave a Reply

