Make Something Monday – Who doesn’t love pie?!

I did not grow up in a household that baked a lot from scratch. It wasn’t until I was in high school that I really started baking treats for my friends. I never even attempted to make my first pie until I was in culinary school. They had always intimidated me a bit with their delicate crusts and so many options of fillings. I’m very glad that I’ve overcome my fear of under cooked pies because they have become one of my favorite things to bake, especially during the holidays.

224140_10151119100652271_857750014_n

This past year I was on a pie making kick, and I really would love to start expanding my pie making skills even more. I picked up the recipe for this delicious Spiced Bourbon Apple Pie from A Beautiful Mess. I’ve made this pie several times now and it’s always a hit! (It even sold for around $50 at an auction earlier this year.)

You can use any kind of bourbon you have on hand (I opted for Maker’s Mark because we got several bottles as wedding gifts last year). There’s even the option to substitute the bourbon for vanilla extract if you so desire. I also think using some fresh apple juice might be a great alternative as well!

390276_10151117282462271_1858230196_n

If baking a hot pie during the summer isn’t your thing, you could opt for this yummy Frozen Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie, also from A Beautiful Mess. I feel really confident recommending the desserts that Emma adapts over there. She may be my pie mentor at the moment!

This pie is super easy and quick! It’s also very adaptable. You could substitute the peanut butter for almond butter, which is a very healthy alternative. You could also make a gluten free crust by using your favorite GF cookies.

I hope you get inspired to go make something yummy this Monday!

Do you have a favorite pie? Or do you prefer cakes? The great debate!

xx

Candice

Leave a Reply

