Girl Power! – What I’m Reading Wednesday

At the beginning of this year I decided to set a goal of reading 100 books by the end of the year. I’m a little more than 1/4 of the way done with my goal which means I need to haul some major booty the rest of the year. (If you feel like following my progress you can check it out on my tumblr.)

On my kindle I’m currently reading Full Frontal Feminism by Jessica Valenti.

fff_small

I am absolutely loving this book so far! I’ve never read any feminism literature, but after being part of a really fantastic discussion about feminism in the Harry Potter series at LeakyCon a few weeks ago I decided to ask my girl friends for some recommendations. This is a great book for young ladies to read, and I almost wish I could have read this 10 years ago when I was on the verge of adulthood. So far it’s made me realize how much of a feminist I am and that it’s something to be really proud of. I should finish up with it in the next few days and I can’t wait to dive into more of her work.

I’ve also started reading the Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon manga series.

sailor_moon

If you were a fan of the cartoon series from the 90’s then you will love these. This is my first time reading manga and after the first chapter I got the hang of reading backwards and sped right through the first 2 volumes. I’m loving these so far and am very thankful to my good friend Sara for lending them to me.

Are you reading anything fantastic right now? Have you ever read manga & have a favorite series?

xx

Candice

3 thoughts on “Girl Power! – What I’m Reading Wednesday

  1. Have you read The Female Eunuch by Germaine Greer? I recommend it if someone else hasn’t already. I commend you for your goal and your progress. I made a goal of only 35 books and Ive still only read 4 so good for you!

    • I haven’t, but I will definitely add that to my list. Thanks so much for the recommendation! And don’t worry, I’m sure you’ll make more progress throughout the rest of the year. Plus you just had a beautiful baby, so I’m sure she’s keeping you pretty busy. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

