Very bookish

I’ve always been a pretty big bookworm, and reading has always been a way for me to relax and escape my daily life. So this year I’ve decided to set some reading goals for myself that I’m pretty excited about.

At the beginning of the year I decided that I would read 100 book this year. The rules: they don’t all need to be new books, or long books; just 100 different books in 2013. I’ve finished 14 so far, and I have full confidence that I’ll complete my goal.

Along with my 100 books challenge, 3 of my girlfriends and I have decided to start a monthly book club. We’re all such different people and have such different tastes in reading that I’m sure we will be opened up to so many new books. Our book club is also a great excuse to get together every few weeks and hang out since we all have pretty hectic schedules. Booze + Books + Lovely Ladies + Gossip = a recipe for awesome!

20130410-145320.jpg

The last book I finished was Under Wildwood by Colin Meloy (hello Decemberists!) which is second book in the Wildwood Chronicles. I’ve always known that Portland was a magical place, but Colin Meloy really turns Portland into a fantasy land. If you’re a fan of YA literature, adventures, talking animals, and brave kids you’ll love this series. I’m very much looking forward to the 3rd (and final) installment, even though I’ll probably cry my eyes out once it’s all over.

bullshitnight

Our book club is selection for April is Another Bullshit Night in Suck City by Nick Flynn. I haven’t started it yet, but we’re flying to California on Friday afternoon to pick up a truck that the in-laws are giving us. Then it’s a 15+ hour drive back to Portland, so I think I’ll get caught up and ready for book club the following weekend.

Have you read any good books lately?

Leave a Reply

