Make changes. Be brave. Do something you love.

I feel really lucky to love my job so much, but how could you not when your job is running the office of a preschool. Even though some days have a few tears (usually the kids, not me), mostly I hear laughter, songs, and kids saying some pretty funny stuff.

I have a few kids that like to come and visit me every day, and I can honestly say that it makes me happy and confused at the same time. I don’t see how I could be so fascinating to anyone, especially a 4-year-old, but apparently some people think I’m super cool. (My co-workers like to tease me that I’m some kids first crush… I think he just likes shredding scraps of paper and telling me about submarines.)

Even though I’ve worked in education for 7+ years this is my first time working with little kids. (Back in California I worked at an Adult Ed School & High School.) I don’t always know what to say, but they’re pretty good at holding up a conversation. And I feel pretty special when they draw me pictures or just want to come say ‘hi’ to me before class.

My job isn’t all hanging out with kids and talking about submarines. I run the office, help out the teachers, organize our annual auction, and really deal with all the day-to-day aspects that keep our school moving. I love the responsibility and working with the families.

I haven’t always had the best luck with jobs, so I feel really blessed to have found one that makes me so happy. And it just validates even more that we made the right move to Portland! It was scary to leave 2 stable jobs, our family, and our friends all back in California, but Nate & I are so happy here that I don’t know where we’d be if we hadn’t taken the plunge.

So this post isn’t supposed to be all about me bragging about how much I love my job. My hope is that if you’re working a job that you don’t love, or live somewhere that doesn’t make you happy, that you’ll be brave enough to make a change. Changes are scary, but they can totally pay off in the end! Trust me!

Do you have plans to make any big changes this year?

Leave a Reply

